A Million Books and More

In the March issue of the reading circle Jean wrote about World Book Night which duly took place on March 5th with a million books being distributed across the U.K. by 20,000 volunteer ‘givers’, the idea being to pass on the book and record your name in the back so the book will reach as many people as possible.

Two weeks before the main event BBC Two broadcast a short programme each evening named My Life in Books. Hosted by Anne Robinson, an amazing mix of celebrities were invited to talk about their favourite books from childhood, adult life and to confess a ‘guilty pleasure’, a book they would always return to.

The guests were varied and some of their book choices were surprising to say the least. Sue Perkins went from ‘Big green caterpillar’ to Russian history, Jon Snow chose a chick lit novel by Sophie Kinsella, and the enigmatic Sister Wendy went for ‘Death on the Nile’. Lawrence Lewellyn Bowen still has a dictionary of art symbols he discovered age ten, and loves ‘Brideshead Revisited’. Other guests included the author P.D. James, and TV presenter Richard Bacon.

Watching this series set me thinking about my own ‘Life in Books’ and what set me on the wonderful adventure of reading the printed word. I can remember as a child having an oversized, beautifully illustrated book about flower fairies, I just loved that book; sadly it disappeared during a house move. At school I was introduced to ‘Ballet Shoes’ and haven’t stopped reading since. I think it’s hard to choose one favourite book, however I have to say two fairly recent books have to come top of my list. ‘New York’ by Edward Rutherford, and ‘The Island’ a first novel by Victoria Hislop. My ‘guilty secret’ is easy, Jane Eyre. I can read this book time and time again.

I thought the series was one of the best on TV for some time. Maybe other readers might share their favourite books from past and present. Could be interesting!

June Richardson



Leave a comment